ABN 36 118 172 771


COMMITTEE PEOPLE {See here for table listing the Clubs Office Bearers}

(1st written for the newsletter in 2007, first updated 2011, re-written 2023)

In 2007 I was awarded Life Membership of the club (2007) for amongst other things, my long term role as Secretary and this prompted me to look at some statistics concerning the executive positions of the ACCV.

Whilst reading this, keep in mind that the positions of Vice President, Editor and Club Captain have been committee positions for approximately one third of the clubs life whereas President, Secretary and Treasurer have been recognised since the clubs beginning. The position of Committee Member has generally not been considered in the compiling of this article (except as mentioned).

Since its inception in 1952 (as a sub branch of the NSW club) the ACCV has had 57 members hold Executive Office.

Of these more than half held office for less than 2 years, some for as little as 3 months.

On at least three occasions members have held two executive positions at once, Basil Bowes; Secretary and Treasurer, John Twomey; President and Treasurer and John Lang; Vice President and Editor.

Sadly, only four women have held executive positions, two as Secretary and one as Treasurer (although at least three more have held committee positions).

The most popular position (indicated by the number volunteering) has been that of President, 24 different members in total, with an average term of 2.9 years.

Once again, the shortest term was a few months and the longest single stretch 7 years by Andrew McDougall, Chester McKaige held the position for 6 years and John Hetherington for 5. (This is also Mark Weller’s 5th year so he may break the record)

Bob Graham actually held the post for 6.5 years but this was in three parts (either a brave or foolhardy member depending on your view).

The least popular (or possibly the most enjoyable depending on how you look at it) appears to be that of Treasurer with only 9 people volunteering in 69 years.

Next least popular is Secretary and although 18 have held the position, more than a third have lasted a term or less.

Six members have given more than 15 years of service to the club and three of these have been in a single position, myself (now in my 34th year) as Secretary, John Lang, 21 years as Editor and Andy Hannam, 20.5 years as treasurer. John Twomey servd for 19 years, but in the multiple positions of President; Vice President and Treasurer

Our longest standing member is John Hetherington, although not all in an Executive position, at 35.5 years. This comprises 12.5 as Editor, 5 as President, 3 as Vice President and 15 as an ordinary (possibly extraordinary) committee person. Apart from those above, next was

I hope you have enjoyed this small insight into the members who have led the club for 69 years, and I think it reflects well on the overall membership that volunteers for the committee are rarely hard to find and are willing to continue to serve.

(and I apologise to anyone who may have served as a committee person for a long period but may have been overlooked due to historical record keeping)

Dale Parsell
Your very thankful Secretary.

Note, the above information was collated from the clubs minutes, there is a chart listing Officers of the club
available on the web site.